Eurovision 2020: Europe Shine A Light will bring audiences together on 16 May

Eurovision 2020: Europe Shine A Light

Following the cancellation of the Eurovision Song Contest 2020, the EBU and its Dutch Members NPO, NOS and AVROTROS are excited to confirm they are producing a new show, ‘Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light’, to air in place of the Grand Final on Saturday 16 May at 21:00 CEST.

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light will honour all 41 songs in a non-competitive format, as well as providing plenty of surprises for fans and viewers at home. The show will be hosted by Dutch Eurovision presenters Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley (Eurovision 1998 and 2007) and Jan Smit.

The show also intends to bring together 2020’s artists, from their locations across Europe, in a performance of a past Eurovision hit, with unifying lyrics appropriate for the current situation we find ourselves in.

Well-known Eurovision artists from recent years will also be invited to participate in linking Europe through other familiar songs from the past, performed in iconic European locations.

The live show is expected to last approximately 2 hours. More details about the line-up and a list of broadcasters that will air it will be revealed in the weeks to come. The show will also be broadcast on our official YouTube channel.

The impact of the coronavirus, and the measures taken to contain it, resulted in the cancellation of the Eurovision Song Contest 2020. It was the first time the EBU had to cancel the competition.

The EBU has declared the week of 10-16 May ‘Eurovision Week’, encouraging EBU radio organizations across Europe to dedicate airtime to this year’s contestants as well as to the rich Eurovision history.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *