Baku, Azerbaijan – It was an exciting evening at the Baku Crystal Hall where in front of thousands of people in the arena and millions of people on TV, Loreen from Sweden won the 2012 edition of Europe’s Favourite TV Show with 372 points!

What an evening it has been!! 26 wonderful acts sang their hearts out on stage, competing for the ultimate prize; the title of winner of the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. However, there could be just one winner and that was Loreen from Sweden who stormed to victory with 372 points.

Russia and Serbia missed out on the top spot with 259 and 214 points respectively after a hard fought battle on the scoreboard.

Loreen also won the second Semi-Final
Ahead of her victory tonight, we can also reveal that Loreen also won the second Semi-Final with a total of 181 points compared to Serbia and Lithuania who came second and third respectively.

The winner of the first Semi-Final was Russia with 152 points followed by Albania and Romania.

Europe lit its fire with Baku
Azerbaijan and the city of Baku have proven to be worthy hosts of Europe’s favourite TV show with a wonderful evening of entertainment put on by host broadcaster Ictimai Television. The show was opened in a very impressive fashion with a stunning fireworks display around the hall and amazing night time vistas of the Azerbaijani capital. This was followed by a very impressive display of Azerbaijani dancing in the hall after which last year’s winners Eldar and Nikki performed their winning entry Running Scared.

The interval act was equally impressive, featuring Azerbaijani superstar Emin who kept the audience and viewers entertained whilst the votes were being verfied.

The broadcast was hosted by Nargiz, Eldar and Leyla who were all eager to welcome the millions of viewers to Baku for tonight’s show!

This is how Europe decided
The final outcome was decided by a 50:50 split between professional juries and televoting from all 42 participants. The jury votes were decided during the Jury Final last night and the televotes decided during tonight’s show. The 26 finalists were made up of 20 qualifiers from the first and second Semi-Finals held on the 22nd and 24th of May and six automatic qualifiers including the Big 5 countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) and the host country Azerbaijan.

Participant Points Place
Sweden Sweden 372 1
Russia Russia 259 2
Serbia Serbia 214 3
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan 150 4
Albania Albania 146 5
Estonia Estonia 120 6
Turkey Turkey 112 7
Germany Germany 110 8
Italy Italy 101 9
Spain Spain 97 10
Moldova Moldova 81 11
Romania Romania 71 12
F.Y.R. Macedonia F.Y.R. Macedonia 71 13
Lithuania Lithuania 70 14
Cyprus Cyprus 65 16
Ukraine Ukraine 65 15
Greece Greece 64 17
Bosnia & Herzegovina Bosnia & Herzegovina 55 18
Iceland Iceland 46 20
Ireland Ireland 46 19
Malta Malta 41 21
France France 21 22
Denmark Denmark 21 23
Hungary Hungary 19 24
United Kingdom United Kingdom 12 25
Norway Norway 7 26

source: eurovision.tv

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *